Ngày Hạnh Phúc Của Mẹ! (Happy Mother’s Day!)

I remember my first Mother’s Day.  I wore a yellow dress and Sheridan wore a cute little outfit with a little yellow hat.  We went to MY mom’s house and took pictures to commemorate the big occasion.  My FIRST Mother’s Day.  The long awaited first one.  Now, so many years later, it is old hat, but I still enjoy it thinking about what it means to me.  And I think about them…………

Happy Mother’s Day to the birthmothers of McKenna and Sheridan.  Every Mother’s Day I can’t help but think about the series of events that led to the fortune of my getting to be a mother.  And to be the mother of these two specific girls….

There are these two other mothers, who for different reasons couldn’t continue to keep them.  So, hey.  Too bad for them?  Great for me?  (A sad little yay, escapes my lips).  And while I always marvel over the wonder of being blessed with my girls, I can’t help but think of these two women, also mothers of these two girls and the circumstances that did or might have led to my fortune.

One mother, in China, had to leave her baby girl somewhere and walk away from her, in winter, at the gates of a government building.  And not.  Look back.  Did she have someone with her keeping her from turning around and running back to that gate?

Another mother, from a farm, who thought her baby girl was going to a local policeman’s family, only to find out later, she was gone, way gone.  She never got that locket with McKenna’s picture in it.  I don’t know why……….

How do you not feel a little bit like you’re a thief on Mother’s Day?

….(I know the above is a provocative thought and if you are an adoptive parent and can relate … or not …. and want to talk about this comment in the comments section.  I’m interested in others’ feelings and thoughts about this.)….

At the same time, I am also the mother of these cool girls.  And I am grateful for their senses of humor, artistry, intelligence, and wisdom.

Two possibly heartbroken women, at one time.  And it took an awful kind of courage to do what they did.  And I get to celebrate Mother’s Day because of them.  So, when Mother’s Day rolls around, and we are thinking about our mothers, my mind strays to China and Vietnam and wonder how two other women are doing.  I wish them much love.  We have two great kids.

There is no way to express the excitement I felt last week when I had an honest to God conversation in Vietnamese with my Rosetta Studio coach. It was AWESOME!! She asked me if I have any children. I told her that I have two daughters. One is from China and one is from Vietnam. Her eyebrows went up a little. (She understood me.) She asked me what their names are. (I understood her.) I told her. She asked me how old they are. I told her. (Understanding. Conversation.) In Vietnamese.

I was thrilled out of my wits. There is almost nothing like the feeling of accomplishment you have when you have communicated with someone in their language.

I have now gone through four Rosetta Studio sessions. And the last two just felt like a slam dunk. I knew all the stuff that I hadn’t known when I accidentally signed up for the first Unit 2 Studio session.

Now moving into the 4th Unit and reviewing the 3rd Unit, I need to set up Studio sessions for both units.  And I am not at all confident that I am ready.  I have recently gone back to work after a lengthy medical leave during which I was able to really focus on learning.  I made real progress on my Vietnamese study during that time.  I am slowing down some now, not having the same kind of focused time to work on it.

What I have found is that I can almost read tweets from @VOAVietnamese and @DaiAChauTuDo.  (By the way, Follow kidsarefromasia on Twitter, if you want)  I am also able to go back and read some e-mails from McKenna’s birthfather in Vietnamese now.  It is like unlocking another world or some wonderful code when you can read another language.

And do you want to see something freaky?

 Sheridan

 

Prisoner in Hanoi Hilton in 1936

Leave a Reply

